The Pursuit of Happiness 

Many days I sit down with the thoughts in my head and the shoulders ache from the emotions of the day. The scope of the despair is immense. Most days you feel the joy of the journey and sometimes you feel like you could’ve done better. Some days you can get to be the person who could help and sometimes you are the person who needs help. 
The people are just so many and your hands are tied. The fact that you have what it is to give to make it all somewhat better but feel like you fall short in your energy & resources.
You ponder most nights sitting alone at all that’s missing, needed and much more. You see the people, the process and the problem & you try to think of many scenarios & ways to make it, pulling out the stops to make the best out of the situation for them. Knowing like the words said to me last night, “The one who holds the glue together, is always the least recognized  one” something like that…. I try to think Starfish starfish starfish … (Starfish Story) 

In the world, all the time there’s something, someone, somewhere and when you get to see and to be able to get to do, be it just being there or offer help its a privilege. 

The fact is that we can get wholly intoxicated by the high or drunk low when the needs cannot be met. How do you strike a balance between that? 

To me it is too important for us to have the balance… to be able to feel the Grief yet stay strong n stand up to fight & sometimes it is good to remember to just be yourself, to be able to detach from all that and be you and those closest because that is important too. Balance, if you have that, then you’ve found the philosophers stone, a gem of wisdom. Yet many of us struggle and haven’t got to that stage yet… 

I share one of my favorite poems by Alexander Pope (not religious affiliated, so don’t pick on the use of the words Lord, God, Father)…. I’ve posted it few times just like the Starfish Story: I find it soothing … 

Peace Everyone 

Love 

Liz❤️

The Universal Prayer

BY ALEXANDER POPE

Father of all! in every age, 
    In every clime adored, 
By saint, by savage, and by sage, 
    Jehovah, Jove, or Lord! 


Thou Great First Cause, least understood: 
    Who all my sense confined 
To know but this—that thou art good, 
    And that myself am blind: 


Yet gave me, in this dark estate, 
    To see the good from ill; 
And binding Nature fast in fate, 
    Left free the human will. 


What conscience dictates to be done, 
    Or warns me not to do, 
This, teach me more than Hell to shun, 
    That, more than Heaven pursue. 


What blessings thy free bounty gives, 
    Let me not cast away; 
For God is paid when man receives, 
    To enjoy is to obey. 


Yet not to earth’s contracted span, 
    Thy goodness let me bound, 
Or think thee Lord alone of man, 
    When thousand worlds are round: 


Let not this weak, unknowing hand 
    Presume thy bolts to throw, 
And deal damnation round the land, 
    On each I judge thy foe. 


If I am right, thy grace impart, 
    Still in the right to stay; 
If I am wrong, oh teach my heart 
    To find a better way. 


Save me alike from foolish pride, 
    Or impious discontent, 
At aught thy wisdom has denied, 
    Or aught thy goodness lent. 


Teach me to feel another’s woe, 
    To hide the fault I see; 
That mercy I to others show, 
    That mercy show to me. 


Mean though I am, not wholly so 
    Since quickened by thy breath; 
Oh lead me wheresoe’er I go, 
    Through this day’s life or death. 


This day, be bread and peace my lot: 
    All else beneath the sun, 
Thou know’st if best bestowed or not, 
    And let thy will be done. 


To thee, whose temple is all space, 
    Whose altar, earth, sea, skies! 
One chorus let all being raise! 
    All Nature’s incense rise!
Leave a Reply

